Receive the newsletter



Read and download the guide (French and English)

4 DISCOVERY TOURS: REVEAL THE CITY

“It stands on the edge of the continent, about to fall into the sea, with breathtaking amounts of air and sea and a studio light picking out all its contours.

It is an unexpected kind of city, larger than itself somehow, like a giant mock-up. That could explain why Royal de Luxe feels so at home here and why it keeps coming back.

The first time that I visited Le Havre, I thought about Brasilia and Chandigarh, these oversized, futuristic capitals keen to anticipate their development. But the most disconcerting thing was the nod to the classics in Perret’s architecture, telling of a desire for the avant-garde and of nostalgia for the past. The word that springs to mind is ‘retrofuturist’ (after the name a famous radio programme).

The objective we were given was to look beyond the 500th anniversary and demonstrate just how desirable and unique the city is.

So we have selected some creators able to take on the city and unveil it. They are all ‘physical’ artists that embrace the space. Their works will make a major impression but I hope, above all, that they will act as catalysts to creativity for people from Le Havre and, will demonstrate the city’s genius to the visitors who come here.

We have devised four cultural tours to take you on a subjective journey around Le Havre, stopping off at the monumental installations found in the public space and visiting the exhibitions that are directly connected to the city. All that the visitor will discover here will be deeply inspired by the city. All, but Love Love by Julien Berthier, a fantasy fitting so well in the basin Vauban, the only whim that pass over the requirement of in-situ.

Not once have we forgotten our guiding principle: showing off the city through its works and artistic events, rather than showing the works exhibited in the city. Some of the works will disappear, while others will remain long afterwards to remind us of this very special year, especially Le Temps Suspendu, a showcase for the thousands of portraits of the people who lived in Le Havre in 2017, the babies, adults, children and teenagers, witnesses to what happened then, during the festive, poetic and somewhat offbeat event.

We have worked with some very sensitive people and that will be felt. The visitors that we attract should experience immense enjoyment on their journey, and appreciate all the intelligence that has fed our artists’ work and the pertinence behind our commission.”  

Jean Blaise
Artistic Director for A Summer in Le Havre


A Summer in Le Havre would like to thank Matmut who accompanies the visitors on the Discovery Tours. 

A Summer in Le Havre Mobile App

A Summer in Le Havre is a geolocation-based mobile application specially designed for use by visitors taking the Discovery Tours. Coming soon on Android and iOS.
Find out more

Our patrons

  • logo LH CLUB 2017
  • logo VINCI Construction France
  • logo Transdev
  • logo EDF
  • logo Total SA
  • logo Matmut pour les arts
  • logo SNCF

Recevoir la newsletter



4 PARCOURS DE VISITE : RÉVÉLER LA VILLE

« Elle est au bord du continent, juste avant de tomber dans la mer, avec de l'air et du ciel à en perdre le souffle et une lumière de studio qui surligne toutes ses formes.

C'est une ville qu'on n'attendait pas, plus grande que son corps, comme une maquette géante. C'est sans doute pour ça que Le Royal s'y trouve bien et qu'il y revient.

La première fois que j'ai visité Le Havre j'ai pensé à Brasilia, à Chandigarh, à ces grandes capitales futuristes surdimensionnées soucieuses d'anticiper leur développement. Mais le plus troublant, c'étaient les résurgences classiques de l'architecture Perret qui disaient un désir d'avant-garde et la nostalgie du passé. Comme le titre d'une célèbre émission de radio, je la trouvais rétro-futuriste.

L'objectif qu'on nous fixait, tout simplement, au-delà de fêter l'anniversaire de ses cinq cents ans, était de montrer à quel point cette ville était désirable et unique.

Alors, nous avons choisi des créateurs capables de se mesurer à elle et de la révéler. Tous sont des artistes "physiques" qui prennent l'espace à bras le corps. Leurs œuvres vont impressionner mais j'espère surtout qu'elles agiront comme autant de stimulants à la créativité des Havrais et, pour les visiteurs, comme l'évidence du génie de cette ville.

En quatre parcours, nous avons proposé une découverte subjective du Havre ponctuée d'installations monumentales dans l'espace public, mais aussi de visites d'expositions qui ont un rapport direct avec elle. Tout ce que le visiteur découvrira ici aura été inspiré par la ville, sauf Love Love de Julien Berthier, une fantaisie qui marche si bien dans le bassin Vauban, le seul caprice opposable à notre exigence de l'in-situ

Jamais nous n'avons oublié le principe que nous nous étions fixé de montrer la ville à travers des œuvres ou des événements artistiques, et non pas de montrer des œuvres installées gratuitement dans la ville. Certaines disparaîtront, d'autres resteront longtemps et rappelleront cette année particulière, notamment le Temps Suspendu, ce réceptacle de milliers de portraits des Havrais vivant là, l'année 2017, bébés, adultes, enfants, adolescents, témoins fantomatiques de ce qui s'est passé alors, un événement à la fois festif, poétique et étrange.

Nous avons, ici, travaillé avec beaucoup de personnes sensibles et cela va se sentir. Il faudrait que les visiteurs que nous allons attirer trouvent, dans leur voyage, un très grand plaisir, décèlent toute l'intelligence dont les artistes ont nourri leurs créations et la justesse qui a porté notre commande. »

Jean Blaise.
Directeur artistique Un Été au Havre.


Un Été au Havre remercie la Matmut, qui accompagne les publics sur les Parcours. 

Application Un été au Havre

Un Été au Havre est une application mobile de découverte géolocalisée spécialement conçue pour accompagner les visiteurs dans leur déambulation autour des Parcours Un Été au Havre. Bientôt disponible pour Android et iOS.
En savoir +

Ils nous soutiennent

  • logo LH CLUB 2017
  • logo VINCI Construction France
  • logo Transdev
  • logo EDF
  • logo Total SA
  • logo Matmut
  • logo SNCF